Industry Leaders Unite to Support The Recording Academy® Producers & Engineers Wing® GRAMMY® Week Event

Audio Industry Leaders Gather for the Sixth Annual GRAMMY® Week Celebration at The Village Studios in West Los Angeles Honoring Music Producers Quincy Jones and Al Schmitt

SANTA MONICA, Calif. (Mar. 4, 2013) — On Wednesday, Feb. 6, 2013, The Recording Academy® Producers & Engineers Wing® kicked off GRAMMY® Week with its sixth annual event, “An Evening of Jazz,” honoring 27-time GRAMMY winner and multi-talented music producer Quincy Jones and 18-time GRAMMY-winning engineer and producer Al Schmitt for their commitment to excellence in audio and ongoing support for the art and craft of recorded music. The event was held at The Village Studios in West Los Angeles. GRAMMY Week culminated with the 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards on Sunday, Feb. 10, 2013.

The event was held with the support of leading companies within the musical instrument and professional audio markets. Premiere sponsors included Astell & Kern (www.astellnkern.com), Avid® (www.avid.com), DTS® (www.dts.com), HARMAN® Professional brands (AKG® Acoustics, JBL® Professional and Lexicon®) (www.harman.com), Iron Mountain (www.ironmountain.com), Louisiana Entertainment Commission (www.louisianaentertainment.gov), Music Marketing (www.musicmarketing.ca), PMC, Ltd. (www.pmc-speakers.com), PreSonus (www.presonus.com), Shure Incorporated (www.shure.com), and Ultimate Ears by Logitech (www.ultimateears.com).

Other sponsors included Argosy® (www.argosyconsole.com), Capital Bauer Insurance (www.capitalbauer.com), Focusrite Novation (www.focusrite.com, www.novationmusic.com), Guitar Center Professional (GC Pro) (www.gcpro.com), Guitar Center www.guitarcenter.com, iZotope (www.izotope.com), Lurssen Mastering (www.lurssenmastering.com), OraStream (www.orastream.com), SoundExchange (www.soundexchange.com), Vintage King (www.vintageking.com) and Westlake Pro (www.westlakepro.com).

Producers & Engineers Wing Senior Executive Director Maureen Droney said, “The evening was a huge success, and once again we take the opportunity to offer a sincere thank you to all of our sponsors. It’s a simple fact that we couldn’t have done it without them. Quincy Jones’s and Al Schmitt’s careers represent powerful moments in music history, and it is especially gratifying that so many leading high quality brands joined together and shared the night with us. We all look forward to next year.”

Representatives from several of the sponsors also weighed in on the evening’s festivities:

David Atkins, President/CEO, Argosy Console, Inc., stated, “We were thrilled and honored to be with so many of our friends and industry heroes and proud to support activities at the P&E Wing event of GRAMMY Week.”

Jim Odom, Co-founder and CSO, PreSonus Audio Electronics, Inc., added, “Supporting The Recording Academy Producers & Engineers Wing is a no-brainer for us at PreSonus; they’re our people! I’m a voting member of the Academy, and with other members of our team in the P&E Wing, we couldn’t imagine a better way to spend an evening during GRAMMY Week than to pay tribute to two of our heroes, Quincy Jones and Al Schmitt.”

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment:
Register Here or Log in Here.

About

The Radio magazine The Wire provides information from manufacturers and associations about industry news, products, technology and business announcements. The information shown here is posted by companies and their representatives and are not edited or previewed by the Radio magazine staff. The content providers are solely responsible for the content of their posts. If you would like your company's news and information to appear here, contact us.

Calendar

March 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Your Account

Subscribe

Subscribe to RSS Feed

Subscribe to MyYahoo News Feed

Subscribe to Bloglines

Google Syndication